Intro Icon

The HSMAI Greater New York Chapter presents the Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award to recognize those individuals or organizations that have made inspiring and significant contributions to the tourism industry in New York City. Frank W. Berkman, CHME, was a former Executive VP and COO for HSMAI. This esteemed award was named after him because of his love for the city and his dedication to building HSMAI into the influential international hospitality industry organization that it is today.

a purple and gold rectangular frame with a star

Annual Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Awards

Thank you for attending the 28th Annual Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Awards at the JW Marriott Essex House.

View Photos

Congratulations to all of this year's Award Winners:

  • Marketing Professional of the Year: Patrick Roy
    Director of Sales & 
    Marketing, JW Marriott Essex House NYC

  • Hospitality Professional of the Year: Andrea Roman
    Director of Sales, Fireman Hospitality Group

  • Sales Professional of the Year: Dayna Nicles
    Hotel Leasing Sales Manager, The Phillips Club

  • Hotel of the Year: InterContinental New York Barclay, IHG

  • Revenue Professional of the Year: Anne Marie Hill
    Market Director of Revenue (NYC ) Sonesta

  • GM of the Year: Samir Ibrahim
    Managing Director, The Peninsula New York

  • Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award: Disney on Broadway

  • Lifetime of Service Award: Kathie Stapleton

  • President's Award: Lucille Yokell

  • President's Award: Dayna Zeitlin

Our Awards of Excellence

Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award

2023 Madison Square Garden

2019 Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts

2018 9/11 Memorial & Museum

2017 Central Park Conservancy

2016 The Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island

2015 Marriott Hotels

2014 The Empire State Building

2013 Rockefeller Center

2012 NYC & Company

2011 IMG Fashion & Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week

2010 Times Square Alliance

2009 United States Tennis Association U.S. Open

2008 New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg

2007 Radio City Christmas Spectacular starring the Rockettes

2006 Jonathan Tisch, Chairman and CEO of Loews Hotels

2005 ING New York City Marathon

2004 The Mayor’s Office of Film, Theatre & Broadcasting

2003 Macy*s

2002 THE FDNY, EMTs, NYPD & Port Authority Police

2001 Starwood Hotels

2000 The League of American Theaters & Producers

1999 The Today Show

1998 Donald Trump

1997 New York City Mayor Rudolph Giuliani

1996 Arthur Surin, Senior Vice President of Hilton Hotels Corporation

1995 Robert Preston Tisch, Chairman of the Board for Loews Hotels

1994 Charles Gillette, Chair of the New York Convention & Visitors Bureau

Revenue Management Executive of the Year

(after the criteria)


2019 Selena Rogers, CCTE

2018 Antonietta Tardugno-Mazzola

2017 Derek Brewster, CRME

2016 Haydee Fernandez, CRME

2015 Calvin Anderson, CRME

2014 Dominik Gomez-Muschenborn, CRME

2013 Alan Gonzalez

2012 Samir Bhatnagar, CRME

2011 Tom Buoy, CRME

2010 Terence Sham

2009 Fred Heintz, CRME

2008 Kerry Mack

2007 Steven Rubin

Hospitality Professional of the Year

(after the criteria)


2019 Charles E. Daley, CTIS, CTP

2018 Yelena Pshennaya

2017 Debra Surden

2016 Yaniv Didi

2015 Kristin Forkin-Collins

2012 Paula Horowitz

2011 Sean Hennessey

2010 Donna Quadri-Felitti, Ph.D., CHE

2009 Florence Quinn, CHA

2008 Merrie Davis

2007 Peter Warren, CHME

2006 Cristyne L. Nicholas

2005 (TIE) Julie Andrews, CHME and Dr. Lalia Rach

2004 Jody Merl

Sales Executive of the Year

(after the criteria)


2019 Isaac Pacheco

2018 Stan Kravitz

2017 (TIE) P. Dean Altvater (tie) Marissa Hou 2016 Vincent Sciabarassi

2015 Andrea LoPiccolo

2014 David Shenman

2013 Adisa Feratovic

2008 Diana Voto, CMP

Marketing Executive of the Year

(after the criteria)


2019 Jason Price

2018 Jessica Rothstein Berman, CMP

2017 Mohini Merchant

2016 Joe Gaeta

2015 D. C. Becker

2014 Catherine J. Pascale

2013 Leon Goldberg

2008 John Moser

General Manager of the Year

(after the criteria)


2019 Sean Verney

2018 Karin Kopano

2017 Robert Gaeta, CHA

2016 Steve Sasso

2015 Robert F. Cardillo

2014 Holly Waterbor-Breuche

2013 Marc Sternagel

2012 Hervé Houdré

2011 Frank Nicholas, CHA

2010 Jan Rozenfeld

2009 Takis Anoussis

2008 Rudy Tauscher

2007 Mary Lou Pollack

2006 Conrad M. Wangeman

2005 (TIE) Thomas G. Lewis and Eric O. Long 2004 Nasser Samman

2003 Thomas J. Travers

2002 Christopher R. J. Knable, ISHC

Sales & Marketing Executive of the Year – Hotel

2012 Dan Paradiso, CMP

2011 Adele Gutman Milne

2010 Geraldine Traino

2009 Kevin Croke

2007 Lucille Yokell, CHME

2006 Richard J. Keating

2005 Kristin M. Ruble

2004 Christopher R. Perry

2003 Rose Genovese, CHME

Sales & Marketing Executive of the Year – Travel Industry

2010 Leora Halpern Lanz

2009 Makiko Matsuda Healy

Award for Operational Excellence

2010 Fred Kleisner

2009 Daniel R. Flannery

2008 Mike Stengel

2006 Vijay Dandapani, CHA

E-Marketing Professional of the Year

2008 Alex Zesch

Hospitality Student of the Year


2015 Patrick Tan

2014 Michelle Berenst

2013 Nancy Nie, Michelle Park

2012 Thomas J. Burke

2011 Sooyon Park

2010 Laura Arneson (graduate)

2010 Greg Bodenlos (undergraduate)

The President’s Award for Outstanding Service


2019 Julian Emanuel

2018 Consuela Hooblal

2017 The HSMAI Greater New York Chapter Professional Development Team 2016 Kathie Stapleton

2015 Lori O’Connell

2014 Thomas J. Travers

2013 Donna Quadri-Felitti, PhD, CHE

2012 Adele Gutman Milne

2011 Ted Schlecht

2010 Julie Andrews, CHME

2009 Joan Wolff

2008 OPEN Hospitality

2007 Denihan Hospitality Group